Author Topic: I'm never buying another jig!  (Read 10230 times)

Offline mud_n_fun

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Well? Where's the fish!!
I'm never buying another jig!
« on: Nov 08, 2008, 09:12 PM »
I have been dieing to buy a fly tying kit for the last six months or so. And today I finally did. I will never by another panfish jig again.

I have been looking at gander mountain and they want $2.50 to $5.50 for 2 ice jigs.

I have about $.15 to $.30 into my new ones.

I was taught how to tie flies when I was 15. I really haven't done it since then. That was 23yrs ago. And now, as I did then, appreciate the fact that I learned this skill.

I can't tell you how much it means to me to be able to make my own ice jigs. Yes I can make a shack to sit in. Yes I can make a light for the shack. Yes I can make a holder for the rod. Yes I can make a rod.

But what it all comes down to is what is on the end of the line. And now I am making that too.

FISHFORPIKE

Re: I'm never buying another jig!
« Reply #1 on: Nov 08, 2008, 09:16 PM »
Nice! :)  The fish you catch will mean that much more to you.  :)

Offline mud_n_fun

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 08, 2008, 10:47 PM »
Any of you guys do this?

Offline coboy

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Nov 08, 2008, 11:27 PM »
Any of you guys do this?
I just got a vise,lead melting pot and a Do-it jig mold but haven't tried it out yet.I'm still gathering firewood for the winter.

Offline pikeking

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #4 on: Nov 09, 2008, 12:40 AM »
I took some lessons a few years ago. I still have all the stuff, maybe I will geve it a try.
If fishing was work I'd never be sick!

Offline icejunky

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • TEAM ONTARIO
« Reply #5 on: Nov 09, 2008, 06:23 AM »
there is a local tying club near me and I have signed up twice and have yet to make it out to a meeting...they tie once a month then fish the next week with the fly's they tied.

Offline Rat-Man

• Team IceShanty Maniac