Author Topic: I want a simple to use flasher, which one ?  (Read 5926 times)

Offline eyefinder

• Team IceShanty Regular
I want a simple to use flasher, which one ?
« on: Feb 05, 2011, 07:44 AM »
I know this probally has been beat to death, but I was wondering if I could get some answers to my question.

I have never used a flasher, or been around one before, but I would like to purchase one very soon.
I don't like to have a ton of features in the electronics I have, so what would be the most simple, most reliable, easiest flasher to use, that is of a good quality ?

Thank you

Offline mrjohnny

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • to cold for me to fish..i'm packin up
Re: I want a simple to use flasher, which one ?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 05, 2011, 07:49 AM »
get yourself a couple sticks of DY NO MITE  one good flash is all you will need....

Seriously,,,I wish I knew the answer to that my self...I got a fishing Buddy from
Hummin bird I use and sometimes I wonder if thats any damn good..I checked
20 holes at least and not one darn fish..It either aint working or there aint nofish there.

Wish I knew.. ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
too cold ....aint going out there..

Offline teamlund

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)
« Reply #2 on: Feb 05, 2011, 07:54 AM »
marcum VX-1 or the vexilar FL-8 are great starter units. Easy to use and cheaper than the rest.

I prefer the marcum for a couple of reasons...

1-marcum is made in the USA while Vex is japan made

2-marcum has a zoom feature while the vex fl8 doesnt

3- I believe that the marcum boats more power so you will have better target seperation

PS_ I own both a marcum vx1 and an fl8 and I take the marcum with me 9 out of 10 times. I have had the vex for about 6 years and the marcum about 3 years. Both have worked flawlessly other than having to replace the battery on the vex which is bound to happen to any unit.
Northern pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)