Author Topic: First fish with Marcum LX7 - multiple problems  (Read 11275 times)

Offline Mark Wo

• IceShanty Rookie
First fish with Marcum LX7 - multiple problems
« on: Dec 27, 2012, 09:51 AM »
I'm by no means an expert ice fisherman and this is my 3rd full season of doing so.  Had an old LX5 flasher that I loved so when given the chance to upgrade to the LX7 for a few dollars, I thought I was getting a great deal.  I think I may have been mistaken.

Went out for the first trip last night.  Got all set up and put the transducer in the water - 22 feet it said.  Perfect, just where I wanted to be.  Buddy and I dropped the lures down and the flasher started going crazy.  Had the flasher mode on and the zoom and full depth mode on as well.  The flasher was blinking the whole time and the depth would change from anywhere from 5 feet to 22 feet and everything in-between.  This was on all 3 screens. One minute there would be hundreds of fish and 1 second later there would be nothing.  then 5 seconds later there would be hundreds.

The flashed, when it was blinking would take triangular chunks out of the round flasher dial and would blink forever.  I changed many settings and it seemed to be much worse in the dynamic depth mode.  Couldn't fish in this mode at all.  Tried automatic and manual depth and while it was better, the depth was all over the place.

I tried the chart mode and the whole chart was filled with horizontal lines almost the whole water column.  Couldn't see the jig or anything as it was a mess.  The water temperature never showed.  I had 2 dashes and the a "F".

Tried "jiggling" the transducer connection into the unit.  No difference.  Tried all sorts of IR and sensitivity settings - no difference.

Any suggestions?  Has this been common?  Called Marcum while o the ice and they are closed until 1/2/13 - bummer.  Do two lines in the water 3 feet a part cause this much trouble?  If so, the unit is going back.

Thanks -

Mark

Offline esox_magnum