Author Topic: Great Bay report  (Read 2316 times)

Offline doabbs

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Mmmm smelt...
Great Bay report
« on: Jan 09, 2009, 12:21 PM »
Well finally moved the Shanty onto the ice last night from Lenny's in Newington.  There was only one other shanty out there on the ice, but I just went down and checked and now there are 3 more.  There is also a good clustering of them over by the golf course, but not being a Greenland resident I've never been down there.

Cut into the ice and was surprised that it was almost a foot before I hit water.  There is about 6-8" of ice and then 6-4" of snow ice on top.

Let me know if anyone makes it out there, I won't be able to actually do any fishing until Sunday.

Offline doabbs

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Mmmm smelt...
Re: Great Bay report
« Reply #1 on: Jan 12, 2009, 12:53 PM »
Lugged the rest of my gear out for the first time.  Snow was about 8" deep.  Fished from 10am-6pm.  No bites or anything on incoming tide.  Same with slack tide.  Finally got some bites right around dusk at 4:30pm and caught 12 smelt total.  We were only about 24-30" off the bottom, left once the shanty was about a foot off the bottom around 6ish.

Offline xp600

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 12, 2009, 12:57 PM »
Hit Oyster river yesterday.  Got there at about 10:45 and fished til 4.  We didn't even get a bite, nobody around us did either.
Heard reports of a few caught earlier in the day.

Saturday my buddy fished Great Bay - he was there for long time.   No hits for hours, then with just a few feet of water below him he managed to pull out 30.

I'm new to smelt fishing - is it better at both places on an incoming tide?

Offline thefinlessbrown2

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • fulfilling dreams in good company
« Reply #3 on: Jan 12, 2009, 05:55 PM »
incoming is always better cause if the schools come through and you get some you know they are going back by on the out going lol

Offline doabbs

• Team IceShanty Regular