Author Topic: What do you think the best fillet knife is?  (Read 3947 times)

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
What do you think the best fillet knife is?
« on: Feb 20, 2008, 01:55 PM »
I'm looking to get a really good fillet knife but gonna end up buy one on line as I haven't found anything that seems right in the local stores   besides not much selection   One thing about it though is I don't want a cheap plastic sheath or cheap knife
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline perchhogslayer

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • waiting for the bite
Re: What do you think the best fillet knife is?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 20, 2008, 01:59 PM »
While we are on the topic of Fillet knife.... Also, what is the best (easy and quick) sharpener you have found?
**Sorry to steal your thread, just had a related question as well.   :-\

An Ice Fisherman is a man who spends cold days sitting on the ice doing nothing because his wife won't let him do it at home.

Offline minnowguy

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 20, 2008, 02:04 PM »
Might try an electric knife once ya get the hang of one it just takes seconds to clean a fish.

Offline Smitty71

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 20, 2008, 02:11 PM »
First to answer perchhogslayers question, go to the IS main chit chat and look for a thread called knife sharpeners- what do you use?  It has 3 pages of great info on the subject.

As for your question Maine, I normally go down to my local butcher shop and get reconditioned knives from them.  Can't even say that I know the names right off hand, but they have been some of the best deer skinnin, fish fillet'in, pheasant cleanin knives I've used.  Go down to your local butcher shop and see what they recommend.  I'll bet they will have some go ideas for you, if not a knife or 2 to look at.

Smitty

Offline spartaman12

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Feb 20, 2008, 02:32 PM »