Author Topic: HELP!!! MY BAIT IS DYING  (Read 7544 times)

Offline Pittsfield Pike Preditor

• IceShanty Rookie
  • drill em and fill em
HELP!!! MY BAIT IS DYING
« on: Nov 07, 2007, 11:36 AM »
Ok, so this is my first year trying to catch my own bait and keep it through out the winter. My buddies and i have about a 250 gallon stock tank with 2 aerators and a pond filter......but now after only 3 days in the tank they are starting to die......any suggestions on how to keep them from dying off??? Any input would be helpful! Thanks. Pray for ice.

Offline scavengerj

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Warm hands, warm feet and tight lines!
Re: HELP!!! MY BAIT IS DYING
« Reply #1 on: Nov 07, 2007, 11:46 AM »
What is the water like in the tank?? PH and such? Sudden change in water chemistry can cause die-offs in no time. Was the water the same water the fish came from?
DMS #525
AMSA #1102
OBPA
RFA #1053456E

Offline BojiHawk

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • I just don't have a healthy fear of...anything.
« Reply #2 on: Nov 07, 2007, 12:20 PM »
Check the nitrogen levels...temp should be kept cool...etc etc etc...

Keeping live bait  - specially chubs - is an art.  Not as easy as dumping them into a big tank and being done.  Letting the water have time to neutralize is a good thing, but dumping like 50 dozen minnows into a stock tank...not good.   The ammonia from their waste will build up very very fast.
STRIKELITE 4-STROKE, POLARIS 800 X2, OTTER OUTDOORS, FL-12, FORD F-150, ST. CROIX, HERITAGE LAKER AND FRABILL THERMAL TIPUPS, STRIKEMASTER BIBS AND PARKA, MR BUDDY, LOWRANCE H2O, AQUA VIEW XL, MARCUM PANNING TRIPOD, AND FATTIES.

Offline vermonner

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Take me to your icefishing leader
« Reply #3 on: Nov 07, 2007, 01:32 PM »
I think you forgot the seventy year old virgin dancing...
see my post about this last year.  Will take care of everything
 ;) :o ;D ;) :o ;D

The employment of effort, hard work, time, and energy put in locating fish will offend noone.