The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Live bait ban?  (Read 22477 times)

Offline Maineicefisha

• IceShanty Rookie
Live bait ban?
« on: Aug 25, 2006, 11:51 AM »
Has anyone heard about the proposed ban on fishing with live fish as bait in Maine trout lakes?  It's all over the Maine fly fishing sites. >:(

Offline big big rdg

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Pike Hunter
Re: Live bait ban?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 25, 2006, 12:31 PM »
That would make things tough :o

Offline Maineicefisha

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Aug 25, 2006, 01:42 PM »
They claim it's ONLY 39 ponds and that they won't be back for more later on.  YA RIGHT!! 

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Aug 25, 2006, 01:46 PM »
Dont say that   I have about 700 minnows swimming in my basement now!
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline oldfox

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Aug 25, 2006, 02:00 PM »
Dont say that   I have about 700 minnows swimming in my basement now!

maybe killem' and cookem'...?  :unsure:  ;D

Offline billditrite

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • R.I.P. Bobberstop 6-14-1944 ~ 7-21-2010
« Reply #5 on: Aug 25, 2006, 02:38 PM »
is it a ban on live bait or any bait? theyll eat em dead if they are fresh  ;D  i am starting to like jigging better anyway. some places are worth protecting. im assuming the proposed locations probably hold wild brook trout stocks. as long as they leave me something to tip my jig with.

Offline Maineicefisha

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #6 on: Aug 25, 2006, 03:05 PM »
It's live bait today, but who knows what tomorrow.  Some of these guys hate that we fish in the winter.

Offline fshnfool

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #7 on: Aug 25, 2006, 03:35 PM »
It's live bait today, but who knows what tomorrow.  Some of these guys hate that we fish in the winter.

if it wasn't for winter....some of us would hardly fish at all... :-\