The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Locating Lakers  (Read 2744 times)

Offline spb802

• IceShanty Rookie
  • If it's cold I'm on the hard water...
Locating Lakers
« on: Mar 05, 2019, 04:44 PM »
Hey Everyone,

So I’m not looking, or expecting for that matter, for personal hot spots but I’m new to the Laker game and was looking for tips on locating areas of higher probability to connect with a laker through the ice. I’m all for putting in the leg work, I just need a starting point. Feel free to PM me, I do a lot of Perch and Flat fishing... trying something new... thanks in advance.
My passion for fishing and hunting, I owe to my Father and Uncle Art. RIP Art Rye, I will cherish all the days on the hard water we spent together and all the days in the woods. Miss you...

Offline keithm87

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Locating Lakers
« Reply #1 on: Mar 05, 2019, 05:25 PM »
Navionics! That’s all you need... look for humps that are near deep water. Lakers love rocky humps this time of year.

Offline Hfbckhntr21

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Mar 05, 2019, 06:55 PM »
Navionics! That’s all you need... look for humps that are near deep water. Lakers love rocky humps this time of year.

I second what keithm87 said.  He is one of the better lake trout fisherman I know, so if you pull up some of his posts, you will learn a lot.

Offline spb802

• IceShanty Rookie
  • If it's cold I'm on the hard water...
« Reply #3 on: Mar 06, 2019, 09:02 AM »
Thanks, what’s a good day on the ice look like when you’re hunting Lakers, get a couple hookups? Frequency on seeing fish on my flasher? Novice to this game trying to absorb as much info as possible...
My passion for fishing and hunting, I owe to my Father and Uncle Art. RIP Art Rye, I will cherish all the days on the hard water we spent together and all the days in the woods. Miss you...

Offline Island_Viking

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Mar 07, 2019, 07:54 PM »