Author Topic: Name the best propane auger  (Read 1109 times)

Offline Tmaida17

• Team IceShanty Regular
Name the best propane auger
« on: Nov 07, 2018, 09:51 AM »
Alright, so I have a Strike Master mag 200 0 that I'm selling to someone after seeing my buddies Eskimo propane auger last year. His propane auger worked awesome and we didn't have to worry about gas and oil leaking which was nice. Not that we had that problem but it nice to not have to worry about it. We used it most of the year on one tank and we drilled a lot of holes.

So what's everyone think and their opinion on which propane auger is the best. His was a Eskimo HC40 but I'm curious if anyone else has any experience with them..

Offline sra61

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Name the best propane auger
« Reply #1 on: Nov 07, 2018, 10:11 AM »
I have a Jiffy Pro 4 propane and an Eskimo P1 Rocket that I bought last year. I like the Eskimo a little better. It cuts faster. There's nothing wrong with the Jiffy, I have cut a lot of holes with it, but the Eskimo is what I'm going to use until I get my hew Jiffy E6 Lightning electric!

Offline Ice_Fly_Guy

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 07, 2018, 10:16 AM »
I have a Jiffy Pro4 and haven't experienced any other propane augers, so I can't make any comparisons.

I really like my Jiffy, never have had starting issues like people sometimes mention.  I wish it were about 10 pounds lighter, though.

I'm sure pretty soon someone will blow up the post saying "get a Milwaukee drill, blah, blah, blah".

Offline DR.SPECKLER

• Team IceShantyholic
  • find your own fish..
« Reply #3 on: Nov 07, 2018, 10:23 AM »