The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Tecumseh discontinued carb  (Read 882 times)

Offline lkimball

• IceShanty Rookie
Tecumseh discontinued carb
« on: Jan 15, 2018, 10:00 PM »
Hello all i am a newbie and i am going nuts trying to find a carb for my 1986 jiffy model 30 tecumseh engine. Carb part #640290 i can order one but wont get until April! Carb was rebuilt but it was in rough shape i need to find a carb. (Pretty sure its original)  My question is does anybody know of another aftermarket carb i could possibly use? Is it interchangeable? I have scoured the net and the white flag is up! Any and all suggestions would be grately appreciated!

Offline mattthehairy

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • There's a beverage here man!
Re: Tecumseh discontinued carb
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2018, 10:21 PM »
I have an old Tecumseh on my Lazer with a discontinued carb. I posted about it here https://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?topic=354370.0

Long story short my auger is used and at some point someone needed to replace the carb and did so with a totally different make and model (which happens to now also be discontinued).

I have no clue how you'd determine what replacement would be "close enough" but apparently it can be done. Though if you read my thread maybe better off just saving for a new machine.

Good luck, curious to hear what happens!
"Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent." - Calvin Coolidge

' \
                                 '   \
                                 '     \@
                                 '       \\
             --------------( ' )---------------
                                 '
                   ><:>      '     <:::><
                                 '
                   ><:::>   *

Offline Chris338378

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2018, 10:28 PM »