New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: I'm a lake trout newbie...  (Read 2529 times)

Offline gill_getter

• IceShanty Rookie
I'm a lake trout newbie...
« on: Dec 29, 2017, 11:14 AM »
Hello everyone. I have been fishing hard water for a few seasons now and I mostly target gills/crappie/and perch. But this year I would like to start targeting lake trout. What size bait do you guys generally use on your traps for lakers? And they are generally in the bottom of the water column I have heard, is that correct? Another question I have is are they found in the bays of LG or only in the main lake? I don't want specific coordinates to honey holes but a general direction of which bays I should try for lakers would be much appreciated. Me and the lady are going out tomorrow and I wanna get our lake trout experience off on the right foot! Any information would be appreciated. Thank you!

Offline jayy

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: I'm a lake trout newbie...
« Reply #1 on: Dec 29, 2017, 11:23 AM »
Lake trout will take big baits.  Bass sized shiners (medium) work as do pike (large) sized. Suckers, smelt, whatever is available.

I am not familiar with lake george but lakers are generally found in the main lake this time of year.. I find them within 5ft of the bottom but the lakes i normally fish max at 150ft deep or less.

Offline adkRoy

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
  • Beware of squirrels playing banjos
« Reply #2 on: Dec 29, 2017, 12:18 PM »
I mostly catch lakers on lake George in 40 to 60 feet of water. they like hard rocky bottoms. suckers and hunts work well.
New York State Ranger School Alumni 1994[

Offline swampking89

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • ice fishin rules!!!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 29, 2017, 12:23 PM »
What is a"hunt"?

Offline adkRoy

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
  • Beware of squirrels playing banjos
« Reply #4 on: Dec 29, 2017, 12:26 PM »
type of minnow that looks like a cross between and icicle and a smelt.