Author Topic: Would this work?  (Read 1805 times)

Offline bspooner

• IceShanty Rookie
Would this work?
« on: Dec 19, 2016, 03:43 PM »
I have a Frabill Excursion and will be taking my boys out. I am not an electrician but want to put some lights in my portable. I just ordered some of the led strip lights off of amazon but now I need power. I am probably going to be cutting the lights up for each pole and I was wondering how I was going to wire the lights to make them all work. I saw this at walmart and wondered if it would work or should I look for something else. It looks simple enough for me but not sure if it will work. Help please. And thanks

https://www.walmart.com/ip/12V-LED-Power-Port-Connector-6-ports-with-on-off-switches/50165090
I fish therfore I am

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Would this work?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2016, 04:03 PM »
Running it from the vehicle ~ the power outlet is fused.

If not, add an in-line fuse between the power source and that device.     

And be very sure those  lights can be cut shorter.     ;)2

Good luck.

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2016, 04:09 PM »
What are you going to use for a power source ? What are you plunging that into ?
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline bspooner

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 19, 2016, 04:12 PM »
What are you going to use for a power source ? What are you plunging that into ?

Im planning on using a 12 volt vexilar type battery. I was thinking I would cut off the cigarette lighter part and use the wires to plug directly to the battery
I fish therfore I am

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
« Reply #4 on: Dec 19, 2016, 04:30 PM »
 :whistle: