Author Topic: Best Ice Fishing Lures For a wide variety of fish  (Read 2640 times)

Offline Fishing_New_England

• IceShanty Rookie
  • 2 things, football and fishing
Best Ice Fishing Lures For a wide variety of fish
« on: Nov 27, 2016, 09:20 AM »
I'm brand new to ice fishing and want to know some lures that will catch me a wide variety of fish. I have one lure. That being a Swedish pimple.

Offline SALMONEMIA

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Best Ice Fishing Lures For a wide variety of fish
« Reply #1 on: Nov 27, 2016, 12:17 PM »
Lots of fish caught on a Swedish pimple they are very effective. Also suggest forage minnow jigging spoons and kastmasters too. Pk predator is a good one too. I have caught a variety of species on the above. Too many options to list. Just find one you have confidence in and use it. Good luck.
Salmonemia

Offline sundancedan

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 27, 2016, 12:20 PM »
My go to lure last year was a Lindy Darter, and some glow jigs for night fishing Burbot. I always tip with a minnow head.

Offline stripernut

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Tight Lines!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 27, 2016, 12:24 PM »
To start off with the simplest way of looking at it... Think in Vertical or Horizontal, a Swedish Pimple is a great lure for a vertical presentation, you can add a "chain" and different "baits" to catch a wide variety of fish. Some situations and places call for a horizontal presentation, I use a Salmo Chubby Darter, with great success. If you were going to jig just for pan fish I would suggest some Tear Drop style jigs, for when the panfish are feeding tiny protozoans and the like... I focus less on color and work on presentation and action, that will get you lots of fish!

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #4 on: Nov 27, 2016, 01:20 PM »
A jigging spoon ...you can jig it vertical with bait/plastic ....as well as adding vertizontal plastics.