The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Strikemaster Mag 2000  (Read 2587 times)

Offline jigging the dream

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • fishins' always good sometimes the catchin aint...
Strikemaster Mag 2000
« on: Dec 28, 2015, 12:21 AM »
Hello all, I have a strikemaster mag 2000.I bought it brand new in 2006. Lately it's been giving me trouble. I noticed on the carb the plastic elbow that the fuel line hooks to was cracked so I ordered a new one. Also got new gaskets and everything. So I took it all apart and replaced the elbow and installed all the new gaskets. Then I had a heck of a time trying to get it started. Fresh gas ,added sea foam too. I really have to pull on it a lot to get it to start now.where before it would Fire after a couple pulls. I finally get it it to start but I have to stay on the throttle. It will not idle at all and when I give it a lot of throttle it bogs really bad. I've tried adjusting the idle screw but no luck. Anybody else experience this? What did you do to fix it? I'm pretty sure I put it back together properly and it seemed to run good before I did all of this.

Offline icefish99

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re: Strikemaster Mag 2000
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28, 2015, 05:15 AM »
I have 2 of them and are having carb problems with both. my old one was doing the same thing that yours was. yesterday I took  it apart
and I took both caps off and blew it out also took the little valve out and cleaned it and added a little sea foam put back together and now it runs fine. hope this helps. Good luck

Offline Turbo jig2000

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 28, 2015, 06:35 AM »
How old is the spark plug? Good idea to change it every year even if you don't think it needs it.

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 28, 2015, 11:22 AM »
Spark plug is old. I will tey that first and see what happens. Thanks for the ideas guys

Offline Seedtree

• Team IceShanty Addict