New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Syracuse Student New To The Area  (Read 634 times)

Offline Will Vaughan

• Team IceShanty Regular
Syracuse Student New To The Area
« on: Oct 31, 2015, 07:59 PM »
Hello all! This is my first time posting in the New York thread. A little about myself. I'm from Vermont, but now have relocated to Syracuse. I have never fished outside of my home state but I plan on going as much as I can while I'm here! I usually would fish for Perch or Lake Trout back home, but I like catching just about anything. Would love to Catch a Walleye as I have never done so before. Now that I'll be going alone or with my girlfriend, I'll only be keeping enough for us two to eat in one or two meals. I use to keep a lot of perch to feed my self and older family members and a neighbor who can't get out anymore. I'm more of a catch and release fisherman, and now with just the two of us will only keep enough for us two to eat in one or two meals. I have a Marcum that I LOVE and a one man flip over and will be getting a hub style or larger style portable for the two of us to go. I have to keep all my stuff in my truck, but I love fishing new bodies of water so I'm not going to let this opportunity go to waste!

I've done some research, but I'm hoping somebody, or anybody could lead me in the right direction within an hour drive of Syracuse University. Not looking for any hot spots or to encroach on anyones spots. I just don't know much about the bodies of water near me or what is in them.

Thank you,
Will

FISHFORPIKE

Re: Syracuse Student New To The Area
« Reply #1 on: Oct 31, 2015, 08:06 PM »
 ;D  Oneida Lake.  All the perch and walleye you could want.  Look for and follow the Oneida Lake threads.

Offline PACKERBACKER

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Retired
« Reply #2 on: Nov 01, 2015, 06:55 AM »
Sodus Bay
Winners don't know they're in a race.

They just like to run.

Offline Will Vaughan

• Team IceShanty Regular