The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: good jig rod for togue?  (Read 1677 times)

Offline relentless

• IceShanty Rookie
good jig rod for togue?
« on: Mar 17, 2015, 05:25 PM »
im just getting into jigging and would like some advice on what size rod/reel I should get for togue.

thanks

Offline gradysjeep

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: good jig rod for togue?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 17, 2015, 06:19 PM »
A lot of it is personal preference but minimum you want something at least around 30" medium/mediumheavy action.  Light rods don't work well because its hard to get a good hookset, esp in deep water.  I like a baitcaster reel for togue but also use a spinning reel that works well too.  You want a good drag and the reel to hold at least 200-300 feet of line.  Lots of info in the trout section of this site.

Offline relentless

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Mar 17, 2015, 06:23 PM »
thanks a lot I appreciate the info

Offline HardwaterFish

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Mar 17, 2015, 06:44 PM »
A lot of it is personal preference but minimum you want something at least around 30" medium/mediumheavy action.  Light rods don't work well because its hard to get a good hookset, esp in deep water.  I like a baitcaster reel for togue but also use a spinning reel that works well too.  You want a good drag and the reel to hold at least 200-300 feet of line.  Lots of info in the trout section of this site.

^What he said

I run a 30" medium rod when I'm jigging for bigger fish like togue, the lightweight rods are good for jigging crappie, perch and smelt and will work on togue, but you may be all day getting one in and like gradysjeep said, you may miss some hookups. I personally have never liked anything over a medium action, the medium/heavy is a little stiff for my liking, but thats just me.