Author Topic: First Auger.  (Read 5204 times)

Offline AJ Flag

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • TEAM MERCER!!!
First Auger.
« on: Jan 10, 2006, 11:15 PM »
Well I almost hugged the UPS guy today when he came beause I was outside and I saw him pull up and I think I saw a glowing light around his truck(might have been the sun glaring off it) but I knew he was bringing me my very first auger, Strikemaster Electra Lazer 12000 DP.  Which made me wonder when everyone else got their first auger and what was it???

"That's how you do it...That is how you ice fish!" MM

Offline TonyC

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Fish Control My Brain!!!!
Re: First Auger.
« Reply #1 on: Jan 11, 2006, 05:10 AM »
My first was an (is) 8 in Mora manual style, bought the day after my first ice fishing experience at Rays in No Plainfield, NJ. Probably 1985. The thing is still in service and have replaced the blade maybe a half dozen times.

I have been eyeing the electric models for a couple of years now. Maybe some day

Offline Sub Zero

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Got Ice?
« Reply #2 on: Jan 11, 2006, 06:25 AM »
AJ,
I started chipping holes with a ice bar back in the 70's until we had a really cold winter (thick ice) and I complained enough to Pop and we purchased our first gas auger called the "Aqua Bug" It's a lightweight machine with an 8 inch bit. (Still runs great but it's now my backup because of it's age) Anyway- congrates on the New Strikemaster! Let us know how it works for ya.
People think we're crazy but we know better!

Offline Icephishnphreek

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I come from the land of Lizards
« Reply #3 on: Jan 11, 2006, 06:50 AM »