New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Wnybassman's Tip-Downs  (Read 8667 times)

Offline wnybassman

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Double Stuff Oreos! . . . . . . Got Cookies?
Wnybassman's Tip-Downs
« on: Jan 08, 2006, 10:36 AM »
Although I have never used a tipdown before, I felt it neccesary to build a set.  I have been thinking about this for quite a while, and was very much inspired by Wizard's design that was posted last year.  Thanks Scott!

I made a couple very small modifications, and jazzed them up a bit for hopefully long term service.  All hardware is brass for corrision resistance, and wood is heavily finished as well.  They are built so they all fit into a five gallon pail easily.

One thing I need to address is the rubber band I have used for a "stopper" when the rod is in the up position.  I want to use them a little before I decide on something more permanent.

"'I ain't broke, but brother, I'm badly bent"- Stiff Dead Cat

MySpace

hali-man

Re: Wnybassman's Tip-Downs
« Reply #1 on: Jan 08, 2006, 10:37 AM »
Sweet! Nice job, man.  :clap:
I can't wait to see them in action!

Offline IceGeek

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Jan 08, 2006, 12:06 PM »
WNYBassman,
   Nice tip-down.  They are deadly on perch and crappie.  I built a set that look similar to yours!  I added a bit of reflective tape to the tip-dons and this helps a bit when night fishing for crappie, even with a lantern you pick up the movement so much better with the reflective tape.  I think you're going to like using them!

Offline utes

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Jan 08, 2006, 12:11 PM »
very nice, probably cost alot less than the one my wife bought me for x-mas too.

Offline rgfixit

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #4 on: Jan 08, 2006, 12:15 PM »
That's the fun part about IceFishing...the tinkering ;D

Nice job guys,
RG
"Did you ever get the feeling that the world was a tuxedo and you were a pair of brown shoes?"

Offline shark