The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Spearing Questions  (Read 1056 times)

Offline tjmortenson

• IceShanty Rookie
Spearing Questions
« on: Jan 13, 2014, 07:39 PM »
So Im new here, but I've been reading here a while.  I've been spearing for a couple years, but I'm looking for some tips.  I've read some older threads and they are very informative, but I still got a few questions.  So what does everyone look for in a good spot to put your house?  I live on a lake with dirty yellow water, and sandy bottom.  There aren't many weeds but there is a spot with big submerged boulders thats the right depth, would that be good for northerns?  And what color decoy for dirty yellowish water?  According to the DNR, the clarity is 5 feet, but I don't believe that since I can see bottom pretty clear in 8-9 feet.  I have been out 5 or 6 times this year, and I've seen one fish.  My current decoys are yellow/orange, and the classic red/white, both about 7 inches long, what size/shape/color works good for you guys?  I've made a couple decoys so I plan on making some more soon.
Thanks!

Offline StabinCabin

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Spearing Questions
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2014, 07:58 AM »
I mainly set up on a good weed bed. Find a drop off  with deep water near bye. If you gill fish try there. Sometimes i will scout the lake with tip ups looking for pike then set up. You might want to try a chartruse decoy or a live sucker.  Check this one out your home state http://www.laskasdecoys.com/  Good luck
Rippin lips one at a time.

Offline tjmortenson

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 14, 2014, 11:16 AM »
ok, thanks for the tips.

Offline Higgins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • WHAT EVER IT TAKES
« Reply #3 on: Jan 14, 2014, 04:37 PM »