Author Topic: Crappie tip downs for trout ?  (Read 2038 times)

Offline twintrades

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Fishin for dinner
Crappie tip downs for trout ?
« on: Dec 16, 2013, 05:11 PM »
Anyone ever use crappie tip downs for trout fishing ?? Just a thought. Im new to trout under the ice. Any advise is appreciated !

Offline chrisk

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re: Crappie tip downs for trout ?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2013, 05:36 PM »
 Larger trout if your using a rod/reel mounted tipdown keep your drag somewhat loose. What kind of tipdown do you use?

Offline twintrades

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Fishin for dinner
« Reply #2 on: Dec 16, 2013, 05:55 PM »
Only one lake around me that has "stocked trout".  I use a homade style. Its kinda like a tripod but with a old fashiond. rodnreel. ( stick kind not mini open water type)

Do trout nibble and tug or Snatch and run ???     like i said never fished thru the ice. And i dont think i can set my tip ups light enuf for them.

If anyone has a simple setup i could duplicate id like to hear about it..... ( pics :-)  )

Offline Osage

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If it ain't my business,It ain't my business !!!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 16, 2013, 06:38 PM »
Can't advise you much on tip downs,but have caught many trout through the ice.Trout are like anything else,one may hit hard,the next nibble.I dead stick mostly,and use spring bobbers or hang a traditional round bobber from the line.When a fish bites,the hanging bobber jiggles as the fish takes the bait,the slack in the line lifts the bobber indicating a fish is running with the bait,when this happens,grab the pole from the rod holder and set the hook.Tip downs aren't that much different than dead sticking,the whole rod tips down when a fish is tickling or taking the bait.

Offline twintrades

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Fishin for dinner
« Reply #4 on: Dec 16, 2013, 06:47 PM »