Author Topic: A chat with the CO  (Read 4919 times)

Offline rico

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Happiness is a safe piece of ice.
A chat with the CO
« on: Dec 09, 2013, 07:35 AM »
Been a lot of discussion here recently concerning private water.  Let me start off by saying I am not a lawyer nor have ever professed to be.  Most of what I know concerning fishing laws comes from, who is now retired, a CO that has permission to hunt and fish here on my family's land.

A few years back a friend of mine contacted me.  Him and one of his friends were fishing a private lake.  Upon them exiting a CO approached them.  He asked to see their catch.  My buddy's friend got cited for an undersized bass.  My friend knowing that I was on good terms with a local CO, called me to inquire about what was going on.

Upon my contact with my CO I found out this......A private body of water is just that, private. However if there is an inflow or outflow into or from that body of water and it is public then all size limits, and bag limits apply.  The flowage doesn't have to be deemed navigable, just public.  Basically private individuals might own all the land around a lake but the state owns the fish.

Just reporting what I was told. 

Offline Crappie slayer 36

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: A chat with the CO
« Reply #1 on: Dec 09, 2013, 07:43 AM »
That's the way I understand the law also Rico.

Offline WalleyeHunter84

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • " Flag Down "
« Reply #2 on: Dec 09, 2013, 07:47 AM »
2nd that
"The Dirty Andy"

Offline rico

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 09, 2013, 07:51 AM »
I just brought it up because of the post talking about white perch.  Some private water just aint as private as some might think.

Offline bigr

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 09, 2013, 08:47 AM »