Author Topic: soft plastics in fish study info  (Read 2397 times)

Offline YOAdrien

• Team IceShanty Addict
soft plastics in fish study info
« on: Mar 25, 2013, 07:16 PM »
guys I am NOT trying to start anything here at all. I stumbled across this on the maine site and found it to be interesting information and figured I would share it with those that hadn't seen it.

As many of you know, I am a retired Regional Fisheries Biologist from the Fish and Wildlife Department’s Jonesboro office after 38 years on the job. I was a member of the Fisheries SCUBA Dive team and was the species author and primary investigator for Maine’s smallmouth and largemouth bass for more than 15 years. I am also an avid bass angler. Here’s some information that pertains to the discussion of soft plastic lures.
    Maine Fish and Wildlife issued a press release on 4/27/2009, “strongly urging anglers to protect Maine’s fish by changing from soft plastic lures to biodegradable ones.”
    A wide variety of Maine’s fish species pick up soft plastic lures and swallow them. Maine biologists have found soft plastics in smallmouth and largemouth bass, brook trout, lake trout, brown trout, rainbow trout, splake, and landlocked salmon. It is less commonly seen in the stomachs of bass because of their ability to regurgitate stomach contents, as many anglers have seen while reeling in bass.
    A creel survey on East Grand Lake showed that 10% of lake trout and 20% of brook trout had soft plastic lures in their stomachs. At another lake, one party of anglers reported catching 10 brook trout on one day, and 8 of the 10 had soft plastics in them.