Author Topic: Homemade Flipover  (Read 3895 times)

Offline Icer 16

• IceShanty Rookie
Homemade Flipover
« on: Mar 06, 2013, 06:27 PM »
I am a 16 year old in Watertown SD and I am new to the sight and  I want to build a 2 man Flipover. I am already have a sled I want to use it is 54"L  26"W  10" H.  There are two ways I am thinking of doing this.

Option 1

Buy a replacement cover for a manufactured flipover that is almost the same width as my sled.  I would then make my own extendable poles. 

What are some replacement tents that are close to my sled width?
How much for the tent?

Option 2

I would make my own tent which would not be very hard because my mom is a quilter and could help me do this.  I would then make my own extendable poles and attach it to the sled

Where can I buy some waterproof fabric and how much is it a yard?

Offline fishm_n

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Homemade Flipover
« Reply #1 on: Mar 06, 2013, 07:07 PM »
Mabeye a large green army tarp?? Go to a fabric store and see what they have to offer? See what your google search bring up.

Is your frame going to be conduit or pvc??

Offline Jumbohunter

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Mar 08, 2013, 08:26 AM »
not sure 75" is pretty close, i live in clark work in watertown.

Offline Clunk

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Mar 10, 2013, 07:35 PM »
Icer 16....

Wish I would of seen your post earlier....I had an older flip over I would of gave you....but I sold it last week......
We need more younger men with your enthusiasm about the great outdoors......The internet has everything you need to figure it all out....
I wish you the best of luck on your endeavor.....make sure you post pics of the finished product...

CLunk......
Maybe a rookie at this game but willing to travel for the BITE....
Jiffy Pro4 8 in auger Clam Yukon Marcum LX 5 Muck boots. Xwife got the 4wheeler so I'm dragging it if I cant drive on the lake....

Offline fishm_n

• Team IceShanty Regular