The ice fishing MN boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Little help w/ Minnesota regs, please  (Read 3978 times)

Offline Auger

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Chicks dig blaze orange!
Little help w/ Minnesota regs, please
« on: Oct 25, 2005, 02:31 PM »
Hello my Gopher brethren.  I'm from Wisconsin, but I'm thinking of tying up a Tackle Buddy full of pike leaders for my brother in law's upcoming birthday.  He's from Burnsville and fishes most often in Minnesota.

I tie quick strikes for here in WI, but I'm pretty sure they aren't legal in MN.  Are circle hooks legal in MN?  I've never used them on tip-ups before but I'm going to give it a shot this season.  Can someone please clear up when you can use a treble and when you can't.  Do I need to tie everything for him with single hooks?  Any other screwy regs that I should know about concerning tip-up rigs for pike in MN?

Thanks Guys.
High Chancellor of WIRC and Provost of Potent Potable Procurement .

Seattle Seven Member #000003

Offline dsmatuska

• IceShanty Rookie
  • The Lucky Man.
Re: Little help w/ Minnesota regs, please
« Reply #1 on: Oct 25, 2005, 02:54 PM »
Anglers may use only one hook. An artificial lure is considered one
hook. A treble hook, when not part of an artificial lure, is considered
three hooks and is not legal. The exception is three artificial flies may
be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish, and rock bass.
I CAN clean fish.  My wife, on the other hand, prides herself in the art of filleting fish.  I mean to tell you, she can fillet ANYTHING, therefore I call myself "The Lucky Man."

Offline dsmatuska

• IceShanty Rookie
  • The Lucky Man.
« Reply #2 on: Oct 25, 2005, 02:56 PM »
Other screwy regs:

• Anglers may use only one line. The exceptions are:
a) Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on des ig nat-
ed trout lakes and streams); and b) Two lines may be used on Lake
Superior more than 100 yards from the point where a tributary stream
or river enters the lake.