The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Wind and pop up ice shelters  (Read 9565 times)

Offline craver

• Team IceShanty Regular
Wind and pop up ice shelters
« on: Feb 19, 2013, 02:16 PM »
Hey there! I am relatively new to ice fishing and wondering how much wind pop up shelters can take. Reports  are forcasting 26mph at Francis this weekend coming up. I have a pop up, anchors ect. but have only had it out in winds maybe half of whats forcasted. Do anchors hold that well?  I would like to take my 4 yr old with me but he wont deal with that kind of wind and no shelter :-\ I know setting them up in the wind can be tricky but any other advice??

Offline mt.perchman

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • big perch hunter !
Re: Wind and pop up ice shelters
« Reply #1 on: Feb 19, 2013, 02:32 PM »
i have 2 pop ups and love them. mine has the large d-screws . just make sure you put the straps down also on the sides . a few times on cayon ferry i tied my shack to the 4 wheeler in really windy days . just use your judgement on to much wind . tight lines and i hope you get your limit . great you take the kids along  ;D ;D ;D
Dreaming of a full bucket.

Offline Pastor B

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 19, 2013, 06:08 PM »