The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Strikemaster mag chipper blade ?  (Read 8521 times)

Offline Handy

• Team IceShanty Regular
Strikemaster mag chipper blade ?
« on: Oct 12, 2012, 12:29 PM »
I picked up this auger last year new and it works very well. But after all the debate about the "new" blades made in china I got to thinking, were the chipper blades manufactured there too? The only complaint I have is it does cut a little slow but I wasn't after a speed machine I just wanted to get through the ice with less effort than a hand auger. I think I will go out and check my blade to see where it was made. If it says china on it maybe get a new blade. Anybody have a similar issue?

Paul

Offline frankrizzo

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Strikemaster mag chipper blade ?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 12, 2012, 02:19 PM »
Chipper blade augers drill slower. Their is only one blade vs. 2 and 3 blade set-ups. I have a Strikemaster Magnum I got last year. I had a old Mag2000 for years and wanted the solo motor. The old Mag2000 cut really slow with the same style blade. The new Solo is 3 times faster than that old auger.

Offline SLAYERFISH

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Oct 13, 2012, 05:10 PM »
Chipper blades cut fast if you keep them sharp. On my new Solo last year I had to sharpen the "new" blade b4 I used it. A fine file and some oil. DONT change angle on the "Flat" side (bottom).

I keep mine razor sharp.
Love Me or Hate Me-
All Metal all the Time!

Offline Buckshots

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Oct 14, 2012, 09:30 AM »