Author Topic: Swimming Lures "how to?"  (Read 1579 times)

Offline icejunky

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • TEAM ONTARIO
Swimming Lures "how to?"
« on: Feb 12, 2005, 05:39 PM »
I just picked up a few jigging rapala's and the new jigging shad. I'm new to swimming lures. Whats the best presentation method?

Offline Pasquatch

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Swimming Lures "how to?"
« Reply #1 on: Feb 12, 2005, 05:59 PM »
Jig them near the bottom, untipped or tipped with spikes or part of a minnow, depending on what you are fishing for... :) They swim in circles when you jig them. Don't put too much bait on the tail or nose hooks, it screws up the balance of the lure.

Offline Rockfish

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 27, 2005, 10:26 AM »
I usually drop 'em til they hit bottom then raise them about 6" and twitch the rod a couple of times then pause for about five seconds.  Its amazing how many times a fish spots it hitting and comes over to ivestigate.  I figure a lot of movement right up front will scare them.  Then you have to set up a rythm. A sharp jig, pause 5 -10 seconds, jiggle a couple of times, pause, jig and so on.  You'll have to experiment until you gain confidence and figure out what the fish want.  One thing you can do is just drop it a foot or two below the surface and watch its action as you experiement.  Better is if you have an aquavu and can set it up so you can see your lure.  Its truely amazing (and educational) to see the fish react to what you do.

:tipup:
Rockfish

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 03, 2006, 05:31 PM »
Swimming lures are some of the finest lures around for ice fishing, and are the very best for most walleye applications.
For jigging raps, the #2 and #3 call for six pound mono. For the #5, 8 - 10 pound. For the #7, 12 -14 pound mono with a fluoro leader is best.