Author Topic: Shallow perch  (Read 2099 times)

Offline NortsNskis

• IceShanty Rookie
Shallow perch
« on: Jan 24, 2012, 06:08 PM »
Ive read a ton of tips/hints threads on what everyone uses or theyre go to jig/bait combo.  But what i cant seem to find is if the depth of water comes in to play when deciding on a jig/bait.  I know some jigs are heavier and sink quicker and so on and that you generally want brighter colors on brighter days and darker on darker days. 

But what is a good jig/bait combo for shallow perch that seem hungry but wont commit??
Do you jig violently or softly??

I ask because where ive been fishing is 7' deep MAX with a varied bottom of silt,muck and weeds.  This is my first year ice fishing and i threw everything i have at them and they were not interested.  The gills and crappies were interested lol but not the perch.   I can say they were not interested at all in a pimple tipped with any sort of live bait.   They were most interested in a jig that was spoon shaped and black with gold flake and very small.  But that was it, they just wouldnt commit.... :tipup:

Offline Swift

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Shallow perch
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2012, 08:42 PM »
When in doubt go small with lighter line. To early for pre-spawning runs so the odds are they're after some type of bugs in the weeds. 3mm or 4mm Wolfram/Diamond type jig and a spike/waxie or small buggy plastic has been the answer for me under similar situations often. Putting a ~3' tippet of 1#-2# line often helps in the shallows. 1/64th jig and a small minnow type plastic also may work, thin  bait and no more than 2" long 

Offline NortsNskis

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2012, 10:21 PM »
Thanks for the info, i should have mentioned i currently have clear 2# line on.  I just switched to that after noticing a decline of bites on the 4# high vis green line i had on there.  I was correct the bite increased but the perch are still wary haha...typical.