Author Topic: How to fish/present spoons or other artificial bait  (Read 2510 times)

Offline sr73087

• Team IceShanty Regular
I have been ice fishing a few years now, but I have never used artificial baits (other than jig head tipped with spikes or wax worms). I typically have relied on live bait on tip ups. I am looking to throw a few new techniques in this winter and wanted some advice on how to fish/present spoons or other artificial baits. 

Offline lefty2053

• Team IceShantyholic
Re: How to fish/present spoons or other artificial bait
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2011, 07:55 AM »
Well I have been using for the last 3 Years some Berkley Power Bait worms for trout. They are 3" long each but I tear off about 1" and place it on my hooks. Fish love it and once they hit it seem to want more. Last Thursday I caught 23 Trout with it on my Slender spoon. I double hooked it with one end on one hook and the other end on another hook of the treble.

Here is the exact one I was using.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Berkley-Powerbait-FLOATING-3-trout-worm-green-chartreuse-/280770787833?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item415f3e39f9

They are sold at Walmart . You get 10 3" worms which is equal to 30 pieces. I used 3 Pieces to catch all those 23 Trout. I have had Perch ,Trout,Crappie,Pike,Blue Gills and even suckers hit it.
<===Lefty===

Offline IceBalls

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • I FISH BECAUSE THE VOICES IN MY HEAD TELL ME TO!!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 2011, 11:57 PM »