The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Any one tried this? Power head adapted to a hand auger blade???  (Read 1382 times)

Offline Gamalot

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Just wondering if anyone has done this. I have a 7 inch Strikemaster Lazer hand auger and a 10.25 inch Strikemaster Mag 2000 power auger.
Seems like I could make a simple adaptor to size down the power shaft to accept the hand auger blade.
Some days I have no need for the 10.25 inch hole and would love to use the power head to drill the smaller size.
If you ever looked at the price of the power Auger blades by them selves you will understand why I am asking this.
If anyone has an 8 inch power auger blade they want to sell reasonable then please let me know in a PM. It has to be Strikemaster that twists Clockwise.
If I agreed with you we would both be wrong!

Offline FishnFiend

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Just a Fiend for Fishn'
I too have the 10-1/4" Mag200, & have thought the exact same thing. I would be attaching an 8" lazer hand auger. The 10" drill just seems too heavy for that motor. I'm not getting enough RPM's for the thing to cut effortlessly. Do you have the same problem?

I'm interested to see answers to your question, & find out if I'm just doing something wrong.

The Fiend :tipup: :tipup:

Offline Gamalot

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Actually, my Mag 2000 cuts a 10.25 inch hole with out any effort at all. I do allow the engine to warm up a bit before putting it under load. Also check your oil ratio and if the choke is all the way off. I am strictly concerned with the weight factor because I like to hike into a remote pond and the Lazer hand auger blade is half the weight of the power auger blade.
I suspect if your Mag is having trouble with the 10 inch it will not get much better with an 8 until you determine the real problem. Maybee a simple carb adjustment but it should eat ice easy.

suskymusky