Author Topic: Where's the big fish?  (Read 1892 times)

Offline Bowhunter57

• IceShanty Rookie
Where's the big fish?
« on: Feb 04, 2011, 05:51 PM »
First, let me say that this is my first year of ice fishing. So far, I'm loving it.

I've noticed a "trend" (on this and other ice fishing forums) with ice fishing results, this year and that is that there are a lot of guys catching smaller fish. It's like the bigger fish have gone into hiding. Also, when I've been fishing open water, I've never been shut out...I always catch something.

In the recent 2 or 3 weeks, I've had a heck of a time catching anything over 1 lb., in any species. There's been a few days of getting shut out and not catching anything.

After drilling a hole, I've tried fishing from the top down or dropping straight to the bottom and fishing from the bottom up. I've used small jigging spoons tipped with spikes or wax worms. Also, minnows with a small hook and a splitshot about a foot up from the bait and fished at all depths.

I've had my best luck in farm ponds, but when I've fished larger waters, the fish get smaller and are far and few between catches. I find all this a bit frustrating, as I regularly catch fish over 2 lbs., 3 lbs. and larger...during open water and with artificial lures only. (Also, I don't own a boat or any fishing electronics.)

Is this typical fish response for this time of the year's ice fishing?
Will the fishing improve as it gets closer to "last ice"?
Is ice fishing more complicated than open water fishing?

Your opinions and experiences are appreciated.
Thank you, Bowhunter57
Anything worth shooting, is worth shooting twice. Ammo is cheap and life is expensive. - USMC

Offline sam419

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Where's the big fish?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 04, 2011, 11:17 PM »