The ice fishing WY board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: ding-a-ling tour  (Read 3345 times)

Offline wyruffneck

• IceShanty Rookie
ding-a-ling tour
« on: Feb 02, 2011, 11:42 AM »
just woundering how many teams do you think will be entering the ding-a-ling  this year,     now i entered the burbot bash  and i did very vell the first 2 nights   but in the rules  the fish cant be frozen or white eyes or pink gills,  i do understand the reason why.  but for the ding-a-ling   and the extream cold temps we are having   it is going to be hard for teams to keep their fish from freezing.  my suggestion would be to drill a hole  just for your catch  use rope and a 3' 2x4  and keep your fish in the water  i did that for the burbot bash and it worked fine ( just rember to keep the ice free in the hole )   i feel asleep  in the shack  and had to chip away with a screw driver threw  almost 4'' of  ice(lol)  now i am new to the ice fishing and thought i would put my 2 cents in

Offline wyruffneck

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: ding-a-ling tour..... freezing fish
« Reply #1 on: Feb 02, 2011, 11:46 AM »
P>S>  the only reason i am saying this is because i saw many teams with their fish just laying on the ice

Offline troutsdaddy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 02, 2011, 12:10 PM »
Maybe just put em on the dash and turn on the defrost ;D!  Great point and great solution!

Offline Jigging4wydsa

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Feb 02, 2011, 12:12 PM »
For the Burbot Bash we took out a big clear storage container and filled it with water and threw all the ling inside of it. Their heat kept it from freezing up and it looks like it's suppose to warm up a bit by Friday! Good luck!

Offline wyruffneck

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Feb 02, 2011, 01:22 PM »
well for the burbot bash,  it was warm out or atleast alot warmer than what it is going to be this weekend,   and if you guys are around firehole this weekend and you see 2 wall tents, stop and say hi
Vance