Author Topic: Hard Water Rookie  (Read 1284 times)

Offline trekk202

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Fish Head
Hard Water Rookie
« on: Nov 27, 2010, 07:07 PM »
I am fairly new to the hard water fishing scene, but I already can't get enough of it.  So far it has been gaining experience by trial and error, with a few successes here and there.  I absolutely love getting out on the ice regardless of whether I catch anything or not, but it sure does curb the criticism and jokes from family and friends if I actually catch a fish or two. 

It seems that there is a balance to keep when asking for tips about lakes, lures, locations and such.  On one hand I want to learn as much as I can from those of you who have mastered the fishing in the area, as well as, I know that my continued efforts and experiences will gain me that same type of knowledge eventually.  Having said that I am definitely open to suggestions, ideas, tips and overall some good chat here on the forum of generally what has been figured out for some great ice fishing here in AK. 

I have caught some rainbows at some of the basic, easy access lakes here in the Valley, but I am really looking to get into some lakes and fish that put a heavier bend to the rod.  I have tried Lake Louise a bit with very little success.  I would like to get up there more, but the combination of the lake size, the fish species and my overall lack of knowledge make it difficult.  I also tried Long lake once last year with the same result.  Almost 100% of the time I get out to ice fish I do not keep my catch; there are enough in the freezer from the summer and really would like to eventually be able to get on to bigger and bigger fish.