Author Topic: Lantern Box  (Read 10074 times)

Offline chicken doodle

• IceShanty Rookie
Lantern Box
« on: Nov 05, 2010, 07:39 PM »

Hey guys. I am new to ice fishing. This will be my first season. I have been gathering up some gear. I came across this box at my local bait shop this summer. I bought it because I like the design and it came with some poles and other gear. I plan on building a larger box from this design. I prefer the taller lanterns that screw onto a propane cylinder.
Aybody else using these? I have no shanty yet, so this seems warmer than sitting on a bucket. Any pics of other boxes would be appreciated. Trying to finalize my design.

Offline fishinfiend

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Lantern Box
« Reply #1 on: Nov 05, 2010, 07:45 PM »
I have the same box, mine is only four years old though.  I love sitting over the lantern when it is blowin cold out there.  A propane lantern should fit in there.  Welcome to the ice world, best damn addiction in the world!!

Offline rjflynn

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 05, 2010, 07:49 PM »
i built one two years ago but then i bought a shanty and dont use it anymore. it sits above my garage collecting dust

Offline AlgaeKilla

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Nov 05, 2010, 07:50 PM »
I used to have two similar ones. I just destroyed one a week ago, because its taken up room in the garage for too long. The other one I've had since I was ten and I just couldn't do it. To be honest, they are a little warmer, but they travel like a stubborn mule. I suggest a small sled to throw your gear in if you don't have or don't want to pull a shanty.
Photobucket can suck it

Offline imsoawesome

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Nov 06, 2010, 07:49 AM »