Ice Fishing Iowa board sponsored by

Author Topic: Info on Icegator or electric augers  (Read 1140 times)

Offline wirehair hunter

• IceShanty Rookie
Info on Icegator or electric augers
« on: Feb 16, 2010, 10:30 PM »
I was looking to buy a strikemaster electric auger but was told the icegator was way better because it is 24 volt and is more powerful and the charge lasts longer. What does everyone else think and does anyone have a used one they want to sell, or where do I buy a new one. I live in south east Iowa.  Thanks for any information. 

Offline Ret58 1

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Info on Icegator or electric augers
« Reply #1 on: Feb 17, 2010, 01:28 AM »
Wirehair, I have a Strikemaster electra, the earlier model in that it doesn't have a battery mounted on it.  I use a lawn mower battery for the main power.  I drill a lot of holes and haven't run out yet with this set up.  The electric is slower than a gas unit, but gets the job done without the gas mess.  The other type you mentioned, I have only seen video of, but it is faster than the Electra.  I like my set up anyway.  Good luck :)

Offline flyfishr

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • The Revenuers don't stand a chance
« Reply #2 on: Feb 17, 2010, 01:42 AM »
http://www.icegator.com/

I bought mine direct from the company and have had it just short of a month.   If you go to their website there is a phone # or you can send them a message.   It took about a month to get mine after I ordered onlline.   

Offline Kevin23

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Feb 17, 2010, 04:27 PM »
I believe icegators are sold out.
EYECONICFISHING

Offline flyfishr

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • The Revenuers don't stand a chance
« Reply #4 on: Feb 17, 2010, 05:49 PM »
I believe icegators are sold out.