Author Topic: Hand Augers and Hard Thick Ice  (Read 6895 times)

Offline scmelik

• Team IceShanty Addict
Hand Augers and Hard Thick Ice
« on: Jan 30, 2010, 10:23 AM »
This year I got back into ice fishing so I had to buy a shack, rods, jigs, line, flasher ect. and all it left was was a few bucks for a auger so I got a strike master mora 8 in.  Early in the year it was no big deal since the ice was only about 10 inches thick, now we have about 20" and more in some places and it is HARD!!!!  I figured being a young in shape guy that a hand auger would be no problem even if the ice did get a little thicker than normal, wow I couldn't have been more wrong.  It has gotten to the point where now I almost dread going out by myself because I can only drill a hole or two before my arms feel like noodles for the next few hours, which sucks because I like to fish a few lakes that don't get much pressure but have great fish in it.  Some of the more popular lakes I can pop open old holes if I am lucky. 

Does anyone have any tips or tricks to making drilling through thick ice with a hand auger?

Offline USMarine2001

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Hand Augers and Hard Thick Ice
« Reply #1 on: Jan 30, 2010, 10:26 AM »
get cordless drill adapter and cordless drill

Offline MGK

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 30, 2010, 10:28 AM »
My friend has the same auger in a 6" and loves it. We drilled 20" of ice with it in less than 30 seconds. Sometimes that 2 inches makes a huge difference. He also said that you have to sharpen the blades after around 25 holes. Good luck.

Offline arcticcatz

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 30, 2010, 10:32 AM »
Pam cooking spray on the spiral part of the auger helps some. Not sure how much difference it will make on an 8 inch, but on my 6 inch my blades are just starting to dull and I don't have the $$ for new ones and the pam makes it a ton eaiser.

Offline jrp454

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 30, 2010, 10:46 AM »