Author Topic: What is the Best Tip up?  (Read 4880 times)

Offline RealityCheck

• Team IceShanty Maniac
What is the Best Tip up?
« on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:20 PM »
I have a couple of crapola 3 dollar tip ups.  I am just getting into the whole tip up thing so cut me a little slack here.  They will work just fine for now.  I have not seen this question pop up much either.  SO, what is the best made tip up on the market today?
Bullet with a name on it.

Offline Phouvieng

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: What is the Best Tip up?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:23 PM »
It's obvious you're a IS veteran, but I really do feel there is plenty of info in the 'tip-up' section of this forum, http://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?board=30.0

Best tip-up is subjective, and mostly an opinion anyways. I personally like Arctic Warriors as I don't like the hand-over-hand technique involved with regular tip-ups.

Offline tench

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:29 PM »
Heritage Lakers are good, they are high quality and have a drag, but they are $25 apiece. 40-ups (the green ones) are good quality construction without a drag, they are only about half the price of lakers. Have a high flag too. Both are made in the USA as well. 40's get my vote.
The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable,
a perpetual series of occasions for hope.
~John Buchan

Offline coreyl302

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice fish NH
« Reply #3 on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:32 PM »
40's and beaver dams
It's the journey, not the destination.

Offline RealityCheck

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:38 PM »
lol, oops ya so I always just pass over that section on my way to the grumpy old man forum.  If that is the worst thing I do this week I think I am going to be o.k.  But I will get a bigger, better response from guys in the general section.  At least until it gets moved to the tip up section.
Bullet with a name on it.

Offline chubs