Author Topic: Pike Jaw Spreaders  (Read 8658 times)

Offline chillywillie

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Team Maine
Pike Jaw Spreaders
« on: Dec 15, 2005, 08:49 AM »
I've seen on some pictures a device used to hold open the jaws of pike to get the hook out.  What are they and does anyone know where I can get one?  I'm new to pike fishing and those look like they make the job much easier.

Offline SPLiNE

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Pike Jaw Spreaders
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15, 2005, 09:00 AM »
I have seen them at Gander Mountain.

Offline baginwal

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 15, 2005, 09:04 AM »
No Politics............Ju st Fish!

Offline jimfish

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Set The HOOK!!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 15, 2005, 09:11 AM »
The jaw spreaders are a must, I also keep a set of 12" needle nose pliers with me. When you catch a big one you don't want one hook in your hand and the trailer in the fish.

Offline killitandgrillit

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Drilling and Grilling!
« Reply #4 on: Dec 15, 2005, 09:16 AM »
I'll second that. I prefer to have use of my fingers for awhile yet.

"I fish because I love to; because I love the environs where trout are found,because I suspect that men are going along this way for the last time, and I  don't want to waste the trip; maybe one day I will catch a mermaid; and finally, not because I regard fishing as being so terribly important, but because I suspect that so m

Offline scansy

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Diehard Fan
« Reply #5 on: Dec 15, 2005, 09:58 AM »
Just make sure you get them out of the fish's mouth before throwing it back! :)