Author Topic: Ice Shanty Clearance  (Read 3634 times)

Offline WalkOnWater

• IceShanty Rookie
Ice Shanty Clearance
« on: Nov 25, 2006, 11:00 AM »
I am half done on my 6 X 8 permanent shanty.   My subfloor is 2x4 and the runners were made out of 2x6.   This gives me only two inches of clearance.   I see that a lot of other people do this, however it does not look like a lot of room for the snow.   Will I be all set or should I slap some 2x10s next to the 2x6s?   Thanks.

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Re: Ice Shanty Clearance
« Reply #1 on: Nov 25, 2006, 12:37 PM »
Ive been putting some old 4" foam insulation under my runners. never froze in the runners!   and the shack also never moved
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline WalkOnWater

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 25, 2006, 03:05 PM »
My question was supposed to be more about the dragging in and taking out.   I have not put a permanent shack out before and was concerned about the clearance for getting in and off the ice.   I plan on putting it on Sebec Lake.   Last year there was not much snow so clearence would not have been a problem.  Thanks

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Nov 25, 2006, 03:49 PM »
Snow never has been a Major problem     just drop the plow    lol

Offline ice dawg

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
« Reply #4 on: Nov 25, 2006, 04:01 PM »
Snow never has been a Major problem     just drop the plow    lol

With two inches of clearance it is a plow!  :D ;)
It seems to go from zero to hero all some have to do is lie.

Offline WalkOnWater

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Nov 25, 2006, 04:10 PM »