Author Topic: PICKED UP AN OLDER STRIKEMASTER GAS(25-1) 10 INCH AUGER. QUESTIONS  (Read 1346 times)

Offline bruceruth1988

• IceShanty Rookie
So I am going to start ice fishing this year.  I have never done it before so I bought this OLD auger from my best friend that had not used it in like forever.  We dumped the oil(gas all evaporated) from the tank, put in some new gas and dang if it didn't start right up and run like a champ.  I took it to the local lake today to do a test drill and man it sucked.

Took me like 3 minutes to drill through 4 inches.  The drill was wobbling around and actually drilled a hole that was more like 12 inches. Not fun.  I thought maybe the blades were dull and sure enough, lots of dents and dings so I looked online for new ones and found them but they are all straight and mine have a curve to them.  See attached pics.

What is wrong with this drill?  It has no center point or guide of any kind.  Is that right??  I think that is why it wobbles all over the place.

Thanks for your help.

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Little more info ..pictures and/or model number of the engine ..otherwise we could end up down a rabbit hole . Is it marked 25:1 on the engine anywhere .

You have Lazer/Curved blades ..center point may be missing

https://www.drockicecenter.com/lazer-power-replacement-blade/

https://www.drockicecenter.com/search.php?search_query=point&x=0&y=0
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Is the auger drill unit secured/tight to the engine ..that will produce a wobble as will a bent flight and/or auger shaft .
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Once we figure out the proper fuel mix this cant hurt