Author Topic: Hauling your portable on the roof rack of veh  (Read 3889 times)

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Hauling your portable on the roof rack of veh
« on: Dec 16, 2008, 07:01 AM »
Has anybody done it succesfully?

Without taking into consideration of ice fishing I just got a 2005 GMC envoy but otter magnum doesnt fit into it and no room on trailer as I never considered I needed a 3 space or 4 space trailer    this is for a 6 hr trip   any other options gonna cost some serious change  lol
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline jdisci

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • "The snack that smiles back, goldfish"
Re: Hauling your portable on the roof rack of veh
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2008, 07:23 AM »
I've had my fish trap 2 on top of my van a few times. I just wrapped it in a blue tarp and tied it down tight.
Those were only 1-2 hour trips at maybe 60mph max.

"Like minnows in a bucket..."
Joe

Offline Luke Haugland

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 16, 2008, 07:54 AM »
I made a trip from minneapolis mn, to roy lake south dakota a week ago with an otter wild one man ratcheted to the top of my suburban.  Make sure you have the cover on the shack, and NO tow/pull rope tied to the tub.

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Dec 16, 2008, 08:00 AM »
prob be smart to put the front of the sled to the rear of the truck  so wind doesnt go under as easy

FISHFORPIKE

« Reply #4 on: Dec 16, 2008, 08:25 AM »
Has anybody done it succesfully?

Without taking into consideration of ice fishing I just got a 2005 GMC envoy but otter magnum doesnt fit into it and no room on trailer as I never considered I needed a 3 space or 4 space trailer    this is for a 6 hr trip   any other options gonna cost some serious change  lol
Have you looked at those hitch carriers?  Not sure what the rating is or the price either - just a thought.