Author Topic: Turning a broken open water rod into an ice rod  (Read 2636 times)

Offline NJChris

• Team IceShanty Regular
Turning a broken open water rod into an ice rod
« on: Nov 28, 2016, 09:36 PM »
I have a 13 fishing black omen I broke in half and figured I'd try to turn it into an ice rod. I've never tried to build or fix a rod before so I'm looking for some tips. My idea was to shorten it to like 54" and then JB weld/tape it together, and then sleeve it with something to distribute the pressure when the rod is loaded up. I figured I'd get rid as much of the butt section as possible and have pieces attached close to the base so softer section of the rod absorbs most of the load. What are your guys thoughts on this? Is there any way I could do it better?

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Turning a broken open water rod into an ice rod
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28, 2016, 10:00 PM »
I have used the tip 2' or 3', found a stick/limb in the woods, something with character, ha, drill it and glue the rod top in.    Great for shallows/sight fishing, just add a couple of pins for a bit of line.  The crude appearance makes you look Pro/older than your years.    ;)2   I have several of these beauties.

Offline esox_xtm

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • It's Showtime!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 28, 2016, 10:06 PM »
If it were me I'd repair it and just buy an ice rod. I've "fixed" a number of busted rods. It's surprising how little the action is affected by the repair even when it's very far forward.