Author Topic: Gills on Plastics  (Read 5957 times)

Offline oldbuck

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • usmc 1972-1976
Re: Gills on Plastics
« Reply #30 on: Feb 11, 2011, 05:52 PM »
I tried Maki plastics on my favorite lake last week end and I did have some success But I did catch more on my old standby hali and wax worm. Probably because Im still learning with the plastics. The biggest Bluegill came on a Plastic At 9"  

Offline KenDOdoubleG

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #31 on: Feb 11, 2011, 08:55 PM »
I tried Maki plastics on my favorite lake last week end and I did have some success But I did catch more on my old standby hali and wax worm. Probably because Im still learning with the plastics. The biggest Bluegill came on a Plastic At 9"  

I agree...the biggest gills on plastic.  I'll admit the action would die and I'd slide on a mealworm to find a bite, but it was a blast catching them on plastics, and I found myself going back to them.
"I think I fish, in part, because it's an anti-social, bohemien business that, when gone about properly put you forever outside the mainstream culture without actually landing you in an institution." John Gierach

Offline fenwick2010

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #32 on: Mar 01, 2011, 11:42 AM »
I just started to toy around with plastics  4 gills  after having sucess with the crappies... I've found that the gills love the color black . I use the Northland blood worm .

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #33 on: Mar 10, 2011, 10:07 AM »