The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: augers  (Read 2615 times)

Offline shillins24

• IceShanty Rookie
augers
« on: Dec 20, 2004, 03:12 PM »
I'm a newbie to the ice fishing world and was wondering how many people use hand augers opposed to a power auger? I really dont have the money for a 350.00 power auger. Does anyone that uses a hand auger, run into any problems? thanks

Offline dxbricks

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re: augers
« Reply #1 on: Dec 20, 2004, 04:58 PM »
I have a 6" and an 8" moro but when the ice gets thick I use the portable drill with the adaptor from I bought on Ebay..no problem doing 15-20 holes in a foot of ice with one battery.(have two)..Somebody here could probably put out the details on the fellow who makes them.Well worth the $$$.

Keith

Offline Dizzy

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 21, 2004, 07:48 AM »
I use an 8” Lazer, hand-auger... and it works great... BUT, it is quite a work-out once the ice gets thick which in turn will limit the amount of holes you drill. Last winter near the end of February, the lake we were fishing had 20+ inches of ice and I was drilling about 6-8 holes a trip.

The diameter of the cutting blade makes a BIG difference. The one guy that goes with us targets panfish exclusively... he uses a 4” hand auger and the thick ice doesn’t seem to bother him nearly as much as it does the rest of us.

Offline Icenutter

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 21, 2004, 07:59 AM »
I have a 7 and 8 inch Mora that I use first first ice.  Once the ice gets about 6 inches or more I break out the gas auger.  These are fine augers for first ice, but if I was going to use a hand auger all winter, especially when the ice gets to be over a foot, I would go with a Lazer auger.
Bring on the ice!!!!!!!  <br />      

Offline groum

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #4 on: Dec 21, 2004, 08:23 AM »