Author Topic: how deep 4 perch  (Read 3904 times)

jillbe

how deep 4 perch
« on: Jan 13, 2005, 03:35 PM »
hello there im new to fishing for perch though the ice, and was wondering how deep i should go? should i fish drop offs, rock bottoms, etc. any help would be great thanks

Offline bassboy

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: how deep 4 perch
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2005, 03:51 PM »
i catch the in weeds i usaly catch them in 5-10 feet near the bottem but have caught them in 2 ft

hali-man

« Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2005, 04:00 PM »
It depends on the water you are fishing. You have to find them!
They hang out at about 25' at my local lake.

Offline kingfshr16

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 13, 2005, 09:10 PM »
 In most lakes i fish WEEDS does it, but as slipbob said they can range from 5 feet to 55 feet and both have fish, i have even caught one in 64 feet so it all depends i guess, do some searching and drill alot of holes, but when you find them ususally you will be able to pinpoint specifics and then begin to catch more.
Jason

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #4 on: Jan 14, 2005, 02:05 AM »
I have been fishing in mostly 10 - 25 feet for perch this year. They definately prefer flats. Scattered rubble on the flats helps attract them too. Deeper flats also produce though. I checked a flat in 38 - 40 feet of water on the same trip but didn't find any. So I think they go deeper later in the year. The perch I catch are hesisitant usually to move more than a foot off the bottom to take a jig.

Tyler
Politically incorrect, and proud of it.

Offline JT

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Eat Fish Hunt Tattoo
« Reply #5 on: Jan 14, 2005, 04:13 PM »
I like my 30ft as the mudline is usually the place to be especially mid season when the are chowing on the bugs on the mudflats.
myspace.com/tat2byjt

Offline TroutFishingBear

• Team IceShanty Maniac