Author Topic: Older flashers  (Read 2230 times)

Offline channelcatben

• IceShanty Rookie
Older flashers
« on: Nov 04, 2008, 04:57 PM »
Hi all. I'm pretty new to the ice fishing game. Last year I used my open water lcd finder for fishing, and it worked okay, to a point. Better than nothing, anyhow. I've heard (and read, and saw on TV) that flashers are far superior units for ice fishing, and I'm looking into getting one. Unfortunately, that purchase will not be within my budget this year. Or next year, most likely.

I've been looking around on auction and classified ad sites, and have seen a whole bunch of older flashers that I could afford this year. The old-school Lowrance green box, the Humminbird super 60, and other different brands are available at decent (or at least affordable) prices.

I'm wondering (since I don't know a whole lot about flashers) if any of these older flashers would be worth getting. Would, say, an old portable lowrance be worth up to $50? Or would I just be wasting money that I could be saving up for a new Marcum or Vex in a couple years? Does anyone have any recommendations for a good older unit?
\"If everybody\'s thinking alike, then somebody\'s not thinking.\" - G.S. Patton

Offline big-brother

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • bring on the ice!
Re: Older flashers
« Reply #1 on: Nov 04, 2008, 05:34 PM »
An older model Zercom might fill the bill.Little bit tricky trying to find one though.

Offline mud_n_fun

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Well? Where's the fish!!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 04, 2008, 05:39 PM »
I use an lcd and have no problem understanding the fish with it.  My $100 eagle model has served me well for the past 4 years and still works like new. Really have no reason to shell out the $ for a flasher.

Offline icontact

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Nov 07, 2008, 10:00 AM »