Author Topic: What's the best line/leader for the ice?  (Read 14974 times)

Offline TheDL

• Team IceShanty Maniac
What's the best line/leader for the ice?
« on: Jan 24, 2011, 10:56 AM »
I am fairly new to hardwater fishing, and currently I'm using 10# mono b/c that's what I had kicking around - it sucks for ice fishing.  I was thinking of switching to a braid - not sure what to spool up.

Looking for something to handle it all, perch to pike - any ideas?

what about leaders - I want to try making my own flouro's - any ideas for # strength and how to tie onto your line?

thanks for the info

Tight lines

Offline PoCo Loco

• IceShanty Rookie
  • I'm willin' to do the drillin'
Re: What's the best line/leader for the ice?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2011, 03:54 PM »
Not sure if this will be much help DL, but for the last 13 years that I have ice fished I just use straight mono, sized for the species.

I've got boxes of it sitting around anyway, so I just use whats on hand. 4lb for perch, 6-8 lb for walleye and 10 lb for pike.

Sure, I've probably missed/lost/spooked fish because of it, but I've also nailed a lot of fish without issue too.

Interested to hear what some of the other guys say.

PL

Offline Goatskin

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2011, 04:01 PM »
Mono will have a better hook up percentage than a leader or braid any day of the week. But the problem is keeping the fish (usually only problem is with pike) on. I know alot of people use circle hooks when fishing for pike while using mono. This is because circle hooks hook the fish in the corner of the mouth and keeps it out of the pikes teeth. The trick with these hooks is not to jerk the line when you set the hook but to gently apply presure instead on yanking it. You also need the right size hook to go with the size of the pike you fish and the bait you use.
Good Luck! :tipup:

Offline TheDL

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Jan 24, 2011, 05:55 PM »