Author Topic: New GPS  (Read 487 times)

Offline Exile

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Cooking a Litlle Venie
New GPS
« on: Jan 05, 2009, 04:29 PM »
Ok I'm looking to get a new GPS. So I need some help on picking one.

1.  I live in Northern Michigan ( The U.P.)
2.  Want it to be able to down load lakes (all great lakes included) that show deatil of the lakes
3.  See roads
4.  Be some what simple to use ( we are simple minded folk here) Just got running water yesterday :)
5.  Hand held
6.  Durable
7.  Price is a factor.
8.  I'm new to using a gps.

any help would be nice.  thanks.
Only in the U.P.  (You can take man out of the U.P. but can't take the U.P. out of the Man)

Offline SUBCATCHER

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • oh i sink so!
Re: New GPS
« Reply #1 on: Jan 05, 2009, 04:39 PM »
I think garmin makes a lakemaster gps. I remember seeing michigan on the list. You might want to search that out :)
If what comes around goes around is true.... Im coming back as a large shiner

Offline shrub

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • The secret to fishing: Fish where the fish are!
« Reply #2 on: Jan 05, 2009, 05:39 PM »
I have an a Garmin Etrex Vista Chx that i bought in november. It is awsome.Very simple to figure out. The only problem is that you have to buy differnt maps for each application. I have The Topos loaded on mine. Sounds like you want the lakes maps and the citys and Streets. Look on Ebay I saved over $100 on mine. One word of advice is to get a model with an electronic compass. The electronic compass allows the compass to be used when the GPS is not moveing. With out it you have to be moving 1-2 mph for the compass to be working. Deffintly worth the extra money.

Betty and Lucey say "HI"!

Offline kdcon

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 05, 2009, 05:52 PM »