Author Topic: question about a certain kind of bite  (Read 3162 times)

Offline NEK

• Team IceShanty Regular
question about a certain kind of bite
« on: Mar 17, 2012, 07:44 AM »
This is probably old hat to you folks who have been at this for a long time - but I don't know how to handle this sort of thing yet as I am just getting started jigging. Quite often - the slight bend that is in my rod tip from the weight of the jig, will suddenly jump up - and I know it's a perch bite - but when I set the hook the fish is always already gone. Is this what you guys call an up- bite? and is there any way that you know of that  I can change my set up to let me catch these up biters? I don't use a spring bobber - just a light tip ice blue jigging rod. I also don't want to deal with a camera set up - so, if a camera is the only answer then I will just have to keep missing those bites. I use light mono line with a lot of stretch, and I was thinking maybe some sort of ice type braided line would help? I am not at all familiar with spring bobbers and don't know if one of them would make a difference or not. Any help would be greatly appreciated as these missed bites drive me crazy on days when they do it a lot.
  Thanks in advance
Warren

Offline WalleyeTom

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: question about a certain kind of bite
« Reply #1 on: Mar 17, 2012, 06:05 PM »
I hand jig with a 4 -6 lb. mono line.  Then I can feel the light biters.
Stay safe  ....    Tom

Offline Bout-Time

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Apr 04, 2012, 07:58 PM »