The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: Left Over Bait  (Read 1847 times)

Offline xjjesterx

• IceShanty Rookie
Left Over Bait
« on: Feb 11, 2008, 08:56 AM »
Ok since I'm a rookie and find myself leaving the ice with more left-over bait than fish, what's the best way to save waxies, mousies, spikes etc, and for how long?

I'm figuring I can save a little money by not pitching my left overs.

Please chime in with your thoughts.

Offline spartaman12

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Left Over Bait
« Reply #1 on: Feb 11, 2008, 08:59 AM »
dump em down the hole and let the fish go on a frenzy
Another crappie.........yay!

Offline Buck762

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When hell freezes over, I'll fish there too!
« Reply #2 on: Feb 11, 2008, 09:01 AM »
If the temperature is below freezing, i leave my waxies and mousies in my garage.  I also use the fridge, and they last a long time.  I have a heavily aireated aquarium that i keep my leftover shiners in, and they can live for weeks.  Really save me money in the long run

Offline Gibby

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Feb 11, 2008, 09:05 AM »
I leave mine in the butter compartment in fridge, should hold you a couple of weeks. Wife will remind you if they have over stayed their life span.

Gibby:)

Offline hauler

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Feb 11, 2008, 09:05 AM »
I always set mine in the window sill.

Offline DR.SPECKLER

• Team IceShantyholic
  • find your own fish..
« Reply #5 on: Feb 11, 2008, 09:09 AM »
I also keep my larva in the fridge as far as the minnows without a valid recipt for them they are not worth keeping any more reciept is valid for seven days.I have a minnow tank full of shiners right now but they are now illegal because of the reicept expired

Offline fishybill

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • insidious
« Reply #6 on: Feb 11, 2008, 09:12 AM »
don't put waxies in the fridge.